Home/Payment Wiki/2026 crypto card shutdowns
2026 Crypto Card Shutdown List: Gnosis Pay, Kulipa, Cypher, and What to Check Before You Migrate
Issuer notices checked through 2026-10-10: the Gnosis Pay card stops at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026, Cypher ended on 6 September 2026, and Solflare paused on 28 July 2026 after Kulipa. Ready is reported by The Defiant only; refunds and a restart date are unknown.
- Verified
- 2026-10-10
What this list records
This page records card stops, pauses and terminations checked through 10 October 2026. It answers whether a named card can still authorise payments, what the notice says about balances and subscriptions, and which party to read before migrating. The wallet brand, the programme manager and the licensed issuer are not the same entity.
A product without an issuer notice is not listed as terminated. Fees, limits and whether ChatGPT or Claude charges will succeed are marked unknown when the notice does not state them. The on-site AI payment check reads browser-visible signals only. It does not guarantee that a replacement card will pay.
Gnosis Pay: card ends at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026
The Gnosis Pay help centre reproduces the formal notice sent to cardholders on 21 September 2026. The Gnosis Pay card, physical and virtual, and the web app for everything other than withdrawals, stop at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. From that moment the card cannot authorise transactions. General cardholder support ends at 23:59 UTC on 18 June 2027. Support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks ends at 23:59 UTC on 12 June 2028. The notice says statutory rights against Monavate, and Monavate's complaints process, are not limited by that later date.
The notice separates the roles. Gnosis Pay sends the notice and acts as technical provider and programme manager. The card and the payment services are provided by Monavate: Monavate Ltd, FCA firm reference number 901097, for UK and other applicable non-EEA cardholders; UAB Monavate, Bank of Lithuania authorisation code LB002139, for EEA cardholders.
On balances, the notice says the Safe is a self-custodial smart-contract account on Gnosis Chain. The assets in it remain the user's. Neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them. Withdrawals stay available on the web app after the rest of the app closes, and the user can also use the existing signer key through a compatible Safe interface. That is separate from card refunds: a merchant refund that arrives after the card is deactivated cannot be used as a card transaction. The notice says to contact Gnosis Pay and keep receipts.
Subscriptions are not moved automatically. Recurring payments fail after the cessation time, and Gnosis Pay and Monavate cannot transfer them to another card. The cardholder updates each merchant. Moving to a partner card is optional and is a new framework contract with Monavate, not a continuation of the current contract. Fees, FX, limits, supported currencies and chains, and rewards may differ. The notice does not list partner names or those commercial terms. They are unknown here.
Kulipa: Solflare's pause, and what is only reported about Ready
Solflare's own post, An Update on Solflare Card, says issuing partner Kulipa could no longer support Solflare Card. Virtual and physical cards paused on 28 July 2026, and subscription auto-renewals tied to the card stopped authorising. The post says spending was from the self-custodial wallet, not from a balance held at the issuer. It also said a new issuer was being integrated, with a new card then expected in August, including Apple Pay, Google Pay, higher limits and cashback. Checked again on 10 October 2026, that page does not confirm the replacement card is live. The restart date, new fees, new KYC and AI-subscription support are unknown. The post says the wallet, staking and swaps were unaffected.
This review did not find a Ready primary notice. The Defiant's headline and lede say Ready shut its card programme after issuer Kulipa's wind-down, that the self-custodial wallet said user funds were untouched, and that the same event affected Solflare and other programmes on that issuer. The fetched article does not state a citable refund rule, replacement product or restart date. Those three items are unknown. Do not treat the news lede as Ready's terms.
Cypher: terminated on 6 September 2026
Cypher's Notice of Termination of Services, dated 8 July 2026, says a corporate transaction at CypherD Wallet Inc. discontinues the Cypher mobile app, the Cypher Card and related services. The service end date and the withdrawal deadline are both 6 September 2026. After that date the app and the card are no longer operational. That date has passed.
The notice says the wallet is non-custodial, so the user holds the keys, and wallet assets are not held by Cypher. It tells users to export the recovery phrase before the end date and to open the same chains in another wallet. Card balances were to be spent or withdrawn before the end date, and recurring payments moved to another method. Charges after the end date decline. Rewards earned before 16 July 2026 would be honoured if claimed before the service end date. Support ran through 6 September 2026 and then, for 60 days, through [email protected]. The notice does not say whether a card balance missed at the deadline can still be recovered. That is unknown.
Before migrating, identify the issuer, the balance and the subscriptions
Do not identify the issuer from the wallet brand alone. The Gnosis Pay notice names Monavate and prints the authorisation numbers in the notice. For any other card, read the cardholder terms, the issuer or programme manager shown in the app, or the card-scheme descriptor. A record on this site restates the notice. It does not replace the terms.
There are two kinds of balance. For a self-custodial wallet, rely on whether the issuer wrote that the keys stay with the user and that the issuer does not hold the balance. The Gnosis Pay notice and the Solflare post say that. Cypher's notice says the same about the wallet, and separately sets a deadline for the card balance. Whether Ready funds remain movable is unknown beyond The Defiant lede, because no Ready primary text was checked.
Update subscriptions merchant by merchant. Both the Gnosis Pay notice and the Cypher notice say the programme will not move recurring charges. For ChatGPT or Claude, use the on-site AI payment check for browser-side causes, then ask the new issuer whether that merchant is in scope. The check is not a promise that the charge will succeed. Gate's October 2026 Visa announcement, the imToken Card (Fiat24) help article, and Phemex's own Phemex Card pages are separate product notices. They are not successors to the stopped cards. On AI subscriptions, the imToken help centre names ChatGPT. Gate's 8 October 2026 announcement and the Phemex fee page checked here do not name ChatGPT or Claude. That support is unknown.
Official portals and sources
- Gnosis Pay formal notice (21 September 2026)help.gnosispay.com
- Solflare Card pause noticesolflare.com
- Cypher notice of terminationcypherhq.io
All links above point to official government, registry, regulator, bank or standards body sites, verified on 2026-10-10.
FAQ
- When does the Gnosis Pay card stop?
- The 21 September 2026 notice says the card and the web app, other than withdrawals, stop at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. General support ends at 23:59 UTC on 18 June 2027. Refunds, disputes and chargebacks support ends at 23:59 UTC on 12 June 2028.
- What happens to balances and subscriptions?
- Separate them. The Gnosis Pay notice says assets in the self-custodial Safe remain the user's, and withdrawals stay open after the rest of the web app closes. Solflare's post says funds stay in the self-custodial wallet. Cypher's notice required card balances and key export to be handled before 6 September 2026, and says later subscription charges decline. Gnosis Pay also says subscriptions are not moved to a new card. Ready's refund and balance terms are unknown here because no primary Ready notice was checked.
- Where do I look if a ChatGPT or Claude charge fails?
- Use the on-site AI payment check at /ai-pay-check for causes visible in the browser. It cannot see issuer authorisation, 3DS or merchant risk systems, and it does not guarantee that another card will pay. Whether a new card supports those merchants is for that issuer's current instructions.
- How do I tell the wallet brand from the issuer?
- Read the issuer named in the cardholder terms or the closure notice, not only the app name. In the Gnosis Pay notice, Gnosis Pay is the programme manager. The issuer is Monavate Ltd (FCA 901097) or UAB Monavate (Bank of Lithuania LB002139), depending on which cardholder group applies.
Related entries
Gnosis Pay card recordSolflare card recordReady card recordCypher card recordGate Visa card recordimToken Card (Fiat24) recordPhemex Card recordAI subscription payment check
This site is an information aggregator, not a regulator, and this article is not legal advice. License requirements, fees and timelines change as regulation evolves. Before applying, rely on the regulator's official publications and consult licensed counsel in the relevant jurisdiction.